Beginners - January 2012 (Page 12)

Syntax of reference pages

Could someone help me understand the syntax of functions on the refernce pages? e.g. The atoi() reference page has this underneath the title, int atoi ( ...
[1 reply] : it tells you that svariable must have the type const char * or a ... (by Cubbi)
how two c++ programs can communicate?

Sorry for this "newbie" question... I have not c++ experience whatsoever (yet). I know only some BASIC dialects and little Python. But I'd like to know how p...
[1 reply] : This is called IPC (inter-process communication) and is far from simpl... (by mik2718)
Frustration with first foray into template classes.

I am a newb to C++'s template class mechanism and am having problems with something probably has a solution that will make me feel stupid. Oh well. So I hav...
[2 replies] Last: If you're trying to write party ->manageEquipment(); and have it ca... (by Cubbi)
Switch Statement: Setting a variable

Hi, This should be really easy- what am I doing wrong? Why wont the switch statement set the variable- is it out of scope? How can I fix it? #include <ios...
[6 replies] Last: Thanks for your help- I reworked the while and fixed the case statemen... (by closed account NU9GNwbp)
by kempy
if statement to set calendar on right day

im trying to write an if statement to start my calendar on the write day i wanted it to say something like if(startday=2) cout <<setw(8); but i need...
[2 replies] Last: mmk so how can i make it to where if a day starts on a tuesday, the da... (by kempy)
const char, char const

Hi! simple question is this: char const* str1 = "str1"; the same as: const char* str2 = "str2"; ? I believe it is since whenever I try to do str1 ...
[11 replies] Last: Warning: delete is used improperly, a memory leak will occur. (by modoran)
'Random Number Guesser' game (w/ functions)