Beginners - January 2012 (Page 11)

How much C?

I'm wanting to help a friend who doesn't know anything about C or C++ learn C++. I'm still learning both languages myself, but I'm enrolled in classes at a Univ...
[8 replies] Last: Ha well then it looks like going straight for C++ is what we'll be doi... (by shadowayex)
Help me with Pointers!

Can anyone help me with pointers? I can't understand it very well. Anyway, I was given an assignment to trace the output of this program without using any com...
[3 replies] Last: Gonna take a guess and say line 10. for(int i = 4; i >= 4; i--) Sho... (by Muckle ewe)
Euler 14 Help

Hi All, Hope you don't mind me asking this here. I'm new to C++ having learnt Python and BASIC years ago at school I figured it was time to learn a 'real' prog...
[3 replies] Last: Thanks chaps, I'd found the error after ne555s first comment, I knew i... (by adam webb)
undefined symbol string

I started writing the following program / my first string #include <iostream> #include <string.h> using namespace std; int main () { string m...
[1 reply] : 'string' (and it's << operator) is defined in <string> not <string.h> (by coder777)
ifstream and function type

I have two questions about a function that I am writing for a program. First, when I compile it gives the error: error C2678: binary '>>' : no operator fo...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks for the help (by mirenga)
How to initialize array of a class which takes parameters for its constructor.

Maybe a stupid question but i couldnt find a way to do that. If the constructor does not take parameters, then the simple method works fine. poly * p = new...
[2 replies] Last: Using C++11 uniform initialization http://www.devx.com/cplus/10MinuteS... (by JLBorges)
by Chami
issue with integer and double values

Hi. I have a problem with integer and double usage in C++. I used the following 2 code lines to do the same mathematical operation but it returned different re...