LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file

I'm hoping someone can help me with this problem. I'm fairly new to c++ but was asked to take on a project where I work. I'm trying to compile and build a program that was originally developed with Visual C++ 6.0. I'm using Visual Studio 2008 with Win7, 64 bit. I was able to convert the project from 6.0 to VS2008 and was able to work through some of the compiler errors. Now I'm stuck on this error, "LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '.\Debug\EncoreMacPacReader.obj'".

I was able to determine the compiler is not creating the object files and I have check the properties on the directory where the files are to be written. There are no restrictions in the path to where the compiler should be creating the object files.

I've also checked the precompiled headers and preprocessor options under the Configuration, C/C++ options in the project property. I'm not familiar with all the options here but I did make some changes based on what I've read on this and other C++ forums. Yet I still get the same error. I believe it's something simple as the problem is consistent regardless of the options I change.

Please let me know if anyone can assist. I can provide more detail. However, the project has over 60 files.

Thanks in advance,
mth
This problem can have many reasons.. did you try to "rebuild all".. sometimes the VS6.0 and newest VS program database/intellesense clash and they give errors. rebuilding all sometimes fix these issues. try it.

Edit: another thing you can try is, create a console/win32 project. whatever applies and add all the files to the new project, add c++ and linker settings and any other settings you have and see what happens.
Last edited on
Thanks Sharma,
I have tried cleaning and rebuilding the solution many times.