Infinite loop

So I'm a little new to c++ and have had this problem with programs I try to loop with. When I run it and select the option to try again the output( 0 is too small try again) repeats infidently.Any clues what the problem might be? BTW I'm programing on my transformer tablet with g++ and a program called c4droid
# include <iostream>
# include <cstdlib>

using std::cout;
using std::cin;
using std::endl;

int main()
{
	char again = 'Y';
	do
	{
		srand(time(NULL));
		int random = rand() % 100 + 1;
		cout << " Guess the number I'm thinking of , 1-100" << endl;
		int number, guess;
		cin >> number;
		while (number < random || number > random)
		{
			if (number < random)
			{
				cout << number << "  is too small\nTry again" << endl;
				cin >> number;
				guess++;
			}
			if (number > random)
			{
				cout << number << " is too big\nTry again" << endl;
				cin >> number;
				guess++;
			}
		}
		if (number == random)
		{
			cout << "You got it, it only took " << guess <<
				" guesses.\nWant to pay again?" << endl;
			cin >> again;
		}
	}
	while (again == 'Y' || again == 'y');
	cout << "Goodbye" << endl;
	return 0;
}
Last edited on
It compiles and runs fine, the only thing i changed was that i initialized the variables number and guess. I would also recommend that you only seed rand once, before the do...while loop.
One thing I would do is move the seed to srand to just before the do loop. You only need to see once, and the way you have it you seed it every time you start the do loop, which will be before each game. Other than that, nothing jumps out at me really. Other thing is maybe on the 2nd if inside the while loop change it to else if.

Oh, and you haven't included <time.h>.

And lastly, you declared int guess but haven't initialized or assigned it a value. So any time you output guess it's an undefined value.

With adding <time.h> and initializing guess it works fine for me, and I moved the srand to right after line 10.
Last edited on