a curious question about variables in functions

Hi everyone,

I have a question about variable declaration in the parameter of functions. I have noticed that in many codes of experienced programmers, the name of the variable they declare in the parameter of their function is different from the name of the variables they declare in int main().

To make this more clear, I will provide an example:

int main()
{
    char grade;

and then the beginning of the function:

int qualityPoints(char letterGrade) {

My question is, since grade will be evaluated by the function quality points, why not name the variable in the parameter grade as well?

I am hypothesizing that it has something to do with calling on that function multiple times for different variables, but as a new programmer I'm not sure.

Can somebody clear this up for me?

Thanks a lot in advance!
you can put same name. it's not prohibited.
Thanks for your reply. Maybe I should make my question more clear, sorry!

I know you are able to put the same name, but I'm wondering why most experienced programmers use different names. Isn't it easier to follow how information is processed when you use the same names?
int main()
{
sum(i,j);
}
int sum(int g,int h)
{
return (g+h);
}

here g and h are the copy of the variables i and j respectively;htese are known as formal parameters......
theymay have same or different name
Thanks for your reply, I will just assume that it is just a style choice.

It is not a style choice.

The variable name given in the function should make sense IN THE FUNCTION. Here is an example function:

int addTwoNumbers (int firstNumberToAdd, int SecondNumberToAdd)
{
  return (firstNumberToAdd + SecondNumberToAdd);
}

This is a very simple function for example purposes. You can look at it and just be reading the first line, understand what the input parameters are for. It is easy to understand, because I chose names for the parameters that make it clear what they do in the function.