Please help me Choose

Hi i am new to Programming and IT. i have done a little Javascript but not much. I am interested in learning C++. i will work through the documentation but i also want a book to have aswell. If you have read these books, Can you please tell me which one is the better book. i.e Better explainations, More useful Topics, and all around better Quality of the language.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beginning-Programming-For-Dummies-Computers/dp/0470617977/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1341566818&sr=1-5

or

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beginning-C-Through-Game-Programming/dp/1435457420/ref=pd_sim_b_6

also i saw a book that got better reviews than the 2 of them, but it's dated back to 2003. Isn't this too old? havent new techniques, versions come out since then? or would this be a better purchase?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beginners-Guide-Second-Edition/dp/0072232153/ref=pd_sim_b_2

closed account (zb0S216C)
Books I Don't Recommend:

- C++ for Dummies
- Teach Yourself <X> in <Y> Days (general)
- Professional C++
- Any Book That's Written By Herb Schildt

Books I Do Recommend:

- C++ Primer, 4th Edition
- Absolute C++
- Exceptional C++
- Programming - Principles and Practice Using C++
- Effective C++/More Effective C++
- The C++ Programming Language (and/or the special edition)

Wazzak
can you please tell me why you dont like C++ for Dummies or books by By Herb Schildt? i checked the books you recommend and a lot of them are very old. does this not matter? are they still current today? if so i'll research them further to decide. if you had to choose 1 for a beginner ready to devote a lot of time to learning the language, which of those recommended books would you suggest?
closed account (zb0S216C)
Foolly wrote:
"can you please tell me why you dont like C++ for Dummies or books by By Herb Schildt?"