Question about std::map

Hello,

This is my first post on the C++ forums. I'm fairly new to C++ (started coding in the language about a month ago). I'm coming from a significant amount of AS3 and most standard web languages as well as some C#. Still trying to get the grasp of the logic behind the language and have come across this inquiry:

Using this code (referenced from a game programming tutorial):

std::map<std::string, CEntityManager*>::iterator it = _mEntity.find(name);

I'm confused not by what it is doing but the rather wordy length to accomplish a map iteration.

I have a member variable "_mEntity", is it not possible to do this (and I realize this might seem obscure): _mEntity::iterator it;

My logic is that since "_mEntity" is a map, why/how does referencing std::map iterator recognize what map to iterate through?

Another example (taken off this webpage):

map<char,int> mymap;
map<char,int>::iterator it;

Again, how does this setup know to iterate through "mymap". Sorry if this seems rudimentary , but I would appreciate a better understanding of this.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited on
The standard library iterators have a state in which they save the information about the container they are iterating through. So when you call _mEntity.find(name) the iterator object which is returned knows on which container to operate (namely, _mEntity).

In your second example, the iterator it doesn't know that it will be iterating over mymap yet - no connection between those two is established before you call something like mymap.find() or mymap.begin() or any other function returning an iterator. So basically you can do something like this:

map<char,int> mymap1;
map<char,int> mymap2;

map<char,int>::iterator it;

it = mymap1.begin(); // it works on mymap1

it = mymap.find('a'); // now, it works on mymap2