Pointers

Hi all,

I know this is the beginners forum, and so it should go without saying that I'm a beginner, but I will supplement that with the knowledge that I also have little background in computer terminology/functionality. I've been reading tutorials (both at this website and others) on C++ programming in general, and am struggling with the full application of pointers and passing by reference. I am hoping someone would be willing to dialogue with me on the topic so I can have that "aha!" epiphany moment.

I understand the basic principle of how pointers work. For example, I understand that if:

beth = *ted

beth will not equal the value of ted, but rather the value stored in the memory address that is equal to the value of ted. This is a rather simple concept. What I don't understand yet is how this works inversely, i.e.:

*ted = beth

Furthermore, I don't understand how it all works together within functions. For example, one I'm trying to understand from www.sdltutorials.com looks like this:

In CSurface.h we see:

class CSurface {
    public:
        CSurface();

public:
        static SDL_Surface* OnLoad(char* File);
};

and in CSurface.cpp we see:

SDL_Surface* CSurface::OnLoad(char* File) {
    SDL_Surface* Surf_Temp = NULL;
    SDL_Surface* Surf_Return = NULL;

if((Surf_Temp = SDL_LoadBMP(File)) == NULL) {
        return NULL;
    }

Surf_Return = SDL_DisplayFormat(Surf_Temp);
    SDL_FreeSurface(Surf_Temp);

return Surf_Return;
}

If someone could give me a step by step explanation (even over the things you think may be obtusely obvious), it would be greatly appreciated.

Daniel
Last edited on
Let's start with your more basic question:

You say you understand how it works in the first case, but not in the other, right? The idea behind something like

*pointer = value