reading Weapons from text file

Hi guys,
This is my first time posting a topic in a forum and I'm pretty new with programming so there might be some stuff I left out that should be mentioned. So do let me know if I did left out anything that you guys would need to know =)

I'm doing a small adventure game. So far I've manage to do all the character, monsters, map and stuff. Now I'm thinking of adding an equipment for the game so I can change swords for my character. I'm not too sure if this is the best way but I am thinking of reading the values like swordName and swordDamage from a text file.

So I'm just wondering if this is the best way to do it and if it is, if I want to include just 2 weapons for now, do I write all the values in a single text file?
You could use an XML type thing e.g:

<damage>
</damage>
<name>
cool sword
</name>

Though you'd have to write a parser it wouldn't be hard at all. It'll probably be better for organisation purposes if you had each weapon in a different file.
closed account (zb0S216C)
kfong wrote:
"This is my first time posting a topic in a forum and I'm pretty new with programming so there might be some stuff I left out that should be mentioned."

Welcome to the boards :) Don't be worried about missing information; there's an edit button.

kfong wrote:
"I'm not too sure if this is the best way but I am thinking of reading the values like swordName and swordDamage from a text file."

That's the way I recommend doing it. Hard-coding data into a program means recompiling the program every time a change is made. With files, it's a simple act of changing the file's data.

kfong wrote:
"if I want to include just 2 weapons for now, do I write all the values in a single text file?"

Yeah'p.

Wazzak
closed account (o3hC5Di1)
Purely out of interest - no thread-hijacking intended:

How would/could one go about doing this if you don't want the user to be able to change the "swordDamage" value?