Complete Beginner, Basic Questions.

Hi guys! I'm just starting out with "Teach Yourself C++ in 21 days." I'm on the first day... haha. Anyway, I've been doing XHTML for years so hopefully I'll catch on fast.

The lesson plan I'm following has me create a program called HelloWorld!. It tells you what to type and everything just so you see the basic steps of compiling, linking, ect. Anyway, I downloaded Code::Blocks and cannot figure out how to compile and link. I compile and it doesn't seem to do anything. I know I need to compile it and save it as an OBJ, then link it, and finally run it, but I can't seem to get it compiled. Just checked in case it was doing something after compiling, and I can't find how to link it either. After this, I tried finding JUST a compiler, downloaded Borland C++ but I don't even see a program to run. The book doesn't explain anything like this, nor does it recommend a specific compiler/IDE to use.

If anyone has experience with these programs, please help me out. Thanks a lot!
1. Are you running Windows?
2. Did you download the Code::Blocks with MingW installer? You Need MingW also on Windows.
3. On Windows, You May Want To Use Microsoft's Visual C++ IDE. The 2008 Express Edition is Free, if you can still find it.
I am running Windows. Vista 64.

I didn't download with the MingW Installer.

I was actually just downloading this to use and get through the first couple days of lessons. I'm currently downloading Ubuntu as well to install on my new machine. After that's done, I'll be using it exclusively.

Thanks for the reply. Should it be obvious how to compile and link once I get MingW installed? I've been working at a computer repair shop for 4 years and have just now gotten into programming... I'm still green -__-.
Last edited on