Trouble with arrays in my code.

The problem in my code I'm trying to fix is the last two for statements.My program always messes up the either the low/high value I check and display because they change for some reason. I'm fairly new to this so I'm not sure where I've messing up. The temp.txt values are irrelevant as long as there are 12 float values. Anyone see where I went wrong?

#include <string> 
#include <iomanip>
#include <fstream> 
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()

{

const int SIZE = 12;
	float tempArray[SIZE]; 
	string months[SIZE] = { "Jan", "Feb", "Mar", "Apr", "May", "Jun", "Jul", "Aug", "Sep", "Oct", "Nov", "Dec" };
	float temperature;
	float lowest = tempArray[0];
	float highest = tempArray[0]; 
	ifstream tempchart;
	tempchart.open("temp.txt"); 
	cout << "This program will display the average temperature of each month of a given year in ferenheit and celcius." << endl; 
	cout << "It will also display the higest and lowest temperature of the year." << endl; 

for( int i = 0;  i < SIZE; i++)
	{
		tempchart >> tempArray[i]; 
	}
	cout << "Month" << setw(30) << setfill('.') ; 
	cout << "Avg temp farenheit" << setw(30) ; 
	cout << "Avg temp celsius" << endl; 

for(int i = 0; i < SIZE; i++) 
	{

cout << months[i] << ": " << setw(16) << tempArray[i] << setw(44) << setprecision(4) <<(5*(tempArray[i]-32)) / 9 << endl;

}

for (int i = 0; i < SIZE; i++)
	{
		if (tempArray[i] > highest)
			highest = tempArray[i];
	}
	cout << "The highest temperature in farenheit is: " << highest << endl; 

for( int i = 0; i < SIZE; i++)
	{
		if (tempArray[i] < lowest)
			lowest = tempArray[i];

}
	cout << "The lowest temperature in farenheit is: " << lowest << endl;

return 0;

}
Last edited on
The initial values of lowest and highest are undertemined because the array was not entered yet.

In C++, it is valid to define your variables anywhere in a function.