Please Help

I am new to programming and have a project of setting up an arduino to control 3 strands of leds. I have gotten them to loop so each strand will flash one at a time but once the last strand flashes I need all 3 of them to flashed together 3 to 4 times then start the cycle over. Below is the program I have so far can anyone please show me what to add to make this work correctly?

//Led setup

int timer = 100;

void setup() {
for (int strand1 = 1; strand1 < 4; strand1++) {
pinMode(strand1, OUTPUT);
}
}

void loop() {
digitalWrite(strand1, HIGH);
delay(timer);
digitalWrite(strand1, LOW);
To get them to all blink, use three loops:

for (int allBlink = 0; allBlink < 3; allBlink++) {
    }

delay(timer);

}
}

By the way, when you post code, use the code tags. The show up as "<>" in the format box to the right of the text box.
Last edited on
This will make them blink strand by strand then all together? Thank you for your help and for the advice on posting. I am definately a newbie to this.
The outer loop will be the counter. The first inner loop will turn all the strands on. The second inner loop will turn all the strands off.

sorry. I did make a mistake. There should be another delay(timer); statement after the second inner loop. Otherwise the strands will be turned back on right away, and you will not notice them blinking off.

Cool thank you for all your help. The outer loop is what I had already came up with correct? It will look like this once it is all put together?

//Led setup

int timer = 100; 

void setup() {
 pinMode(strand1, OUTPUT); 
}
 }

void loop() {
delay(timer); 
    }
  delay(timer);

for (int allBlink = 0; allBlink < 3; allBlink++) {
    }

delay(timer);

}
} 
What your originally came up with is not what I refer to as the outer loop. It was a function definition containing a single loop to blink each light independently. That was good.