need help in grading program

hello i am really confuse with this. i v tried to do my possible best but not working.i am a newbie in programming just trying to do ma first program.
here is the question.

Write a program that allows the user to enter the grade scored in a programming class (0-100).
If the user scored a 100 then notify the user that they got a perfect score.

★ Modify the program so that if the user scored a 90-100 it informs the user that they scored an A

★★ Modify the program so that it will notify the user of their letter grade
0-59 F 60-69 D 70-79 C 80-89 B 90-100 A"

and here is what i did so far.

// t.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
//
#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

void grade() {

cout << "you got it the perfect score: " << endl;

};

int main ()

{

int a,b,c,d,f;
int totalgrade = 100;
a = 90;
b = 80;
c = 70;
d = 60;
f = 59;

int result;
cout << "please enter your score to show your grade: ";
cin >> result;

if ((a >= 90) || (result == 99)) {
string score = "A" ;
cout << "your grade is " << score << endl ;

}

else if ((result <= b) || (result == 89)) {

string score2 = "B";
cout << "your grade is " << score2;
so my problem is that if i input 82 as the score, it still show me 'A' as the grade i dont know how to nest it anymore. help me out pls
Last edited on
        int score;

cout << "Enter your score: ";
	cin >> score;

if(score == 100) 
		cout << "You got a perfect score!";
	   else if(score >= 90 && score < 100)
		cout << "\nYou got an A";
	   else if(score >= 80 && score < 90)
		cout << "\nYou got a B";
	//...
	   else // to catch anything unexpected
		cout << "\nScore out of range";

Your instructions imply that you already had some code to begin with, but the above should be more than enough to get you started. Does any of that look familiar/make sense?
Last edited on