Need help with homework almost done

I am very new to c++ and would like some help writing this out. I am not asking for you to write it out for me. I'm just asking for someone to help me start it.

So the program I have to write is if someone picks the years from 400 to 2400 is it going to be a leap year using the if else statement and here is what i have so far.

My teacher said it needs to be nested and also tested for each one of the equations
Also I think im missing this but not sure where to put it (year <400 || year > 2400) return -1;

here is what I have

using namespace std;

//main body

int main ()
{
//local identifiers
int Year,LeapYear;
//input module

cout<<"please input year that you would like to check:\t";
cin>>Year;
if
(Year % 4!=0)
cout<< "year is not leap year\t";
else
cout <<"year is Not a leap year\t";
if
(Year % 100!=0)
cout<< "Leap year";
else if (Year % 400!=0)
cout<< "is a century year";
else
cout<<" is a century leap year";
//output

cout<<"Year"<<endl;

system ("PAUSE");
return 0;

}
if
(Year % 4!=0)
else

Should that second cout statement be there??
haha thanks I didn't even notice my mistake
closed account (G854izwU)
Hello! Just for your information it would be helpful if you put your code in code format in future posts. Also not to be mean but it might help you out in the future if you spaced your code a little better. But now to the problem at hand.

I don't understand how this would work. These two lines.

if
(Year % 4!=0)
else

You know that the else means ANY other condition so your code is always going to say year is not a leap year. Another thing it is not good practice to use system("pause"); Because in the future when you start making bigger programs that people could actually start using it creates a large security hole.

Now if you could clarify what you want from me more I would appreciate it! I will try to help you as much as I can!
Last edited on
Haha! the guy above already beat me to that.
Last edited on