Advancing my calculator

Ok, I'm a newbie teaching myself from this website and a book I bought. I created a calculator with basic math operations. However, I would like to advance it to where it can work with parenthesis, powers, ect. Here is the code I have so far, how would I advance it to perform these functions.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int inputx;
char operate;
int inputy;

int main() {

cout << "Please enter the equation to be calculated:" << endl;
	cout << "Add = +" << endl << "Subtract = -" << endl << "Multiply = *" << endl << "Divide = /" << endl;

cout << "Enter the first integer:";
	cin >> inputx;
	cout << "Enter the operator:";
	cin >> operate;
	cout << "Enter the last integer and press enter:";
	cin >> inputy;

//Plus sign
	if(operate == 43)
	{
	int result = inputx + inputy;

cout << inputx<<" "<<operate<<" "<<inputy<<" ="<< " " <<result<<endl;	}
	//Minus Sign
	if(operate == 45){
		int result;
		result = inputx - inputy;

cout << inputx<<" "<<operate<<" "<<inputy<<" ="<< " " <<result<<endl;
	}
	if(operate == 42){
		int result;
		result = inputx * inputy;

}
	if(operate == 47){
		int result;
		result = inputx / inputy;

}
		string choice;
		cout << "Do you want to do another calculation?" << endl << "Yes/No" << endl;
		cin >> choice;
		if(choice == "Yes", "yes", "y"){
			return main();
	}
		else{
			return (0);
			}
		}

Thanks,
Derek
If you want to handle parenthesis then you'll probably want to write a program using something like Dijkstra's Shunting Yard Algorithm (you'll be able to find the details of that on google)

Although before you do that, there's a few other things you might want to think about..

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int inputx;
char operate;
int inputy;