Learning c++

Hi all ,

I am new to c++ and have set myself a goal of spending most of my spare time to this task for the next year ! To be honest most people i have told have said this is lunacy and to learn a high level programming language will take alot of effort ( Normal people dont understand that some of us dont fear work ethic but view obstacles as a means to test ourselves )

I am currently reading two c++ books ( Accelerated c++, a detailed slow moving beginner book , and a second lightning read intro book c++ in easy steps )

My first comments are that the tw0 although both aimed at the beginners market are entirely different in their approach and both have their pros and cons. I am currently on page 40 of accelerated c++ and have found myself rereading it and absorbing the knowledge ( which takes some time ) , whereas the c++ in easy steps is more blitz style intro where to actually take any understanding rather than memorization away from it you need to log on to youtube and research the modules ( incidentally i am on page 70 if that book ). I have read alot and reread alot, i feel like im breaking through! If anyone had their top three beginners topics in c++ what would they Be.... PS i expect to not really understand c++ at all until i reach 1000 study hours which will be by chriistmas i hope , i can dedicated alot of time to things im a solitary INTJ personality type with a wharped sense of whats important LOL PS i aim around 40 hours into this monumental task and loving it TRUE SADISM
Good for you! Glad to see that, most importantly, you're enjoying what you're doing.

I don't think I can narrow it down into three beginners topics. C++ is a vast language and different things are important for different requirements. Just trying to understand something thoroughly rather than kid yourself that you do. And if you don't understand something, don't sweat - this board is an excellent resource for learning C++.