Problems with Templates and User defined classes

First, Let me introduce myself.

I've been lurking on this forum for some time now and have found a plentitude of awesome resources to help me as I work in C++. Thanks for keeping such a trove of information around.

I'm a CS student have worked in Java, C#, and C++ thus far. Still have a few years to go.
---

The Question

Up until this point, I have generally been able to find good answers to my questions through the resources at hand (i.e. internet, prof, textbook, etc.)

Unfortunately the lab is closed, I have no class today, and I cannot find an answer to my problem online. Thus, I decided to finally create an account and ask it here.

The welcome post was quite clear that brevity and precision are appreciated here and though I tend to be long winded I will attempt to honor that rule.

One more thing: I use Visual Studios 2010 Express.

The Assignment:

1. Read from file and populate a vector of user defined 'Student' objects.

2. Write each of the following sort algorithms and sort the vector with each:

Selection Sort
Insertion Sort
Merge Sort
Quick Sort
std::sort (from the standard library)
std::list.sort() (from the standard library)

4. Track how many times each sort algorithm compares Student Objects.

5. Write to file and end.

---

What I've Done:

-I wrote the I/O and Student classes in a previous project.

-Added functionality to Student class to track number of times the
overloaded operator '<' or '>' are used

-Wrote Selection and Insertion Sort algorithms

---

The Problem:

Rather than writing my sort algorithms explicitly for Student objects, I decided to use templates to make them universal. Having done this and seeing no errors in the code I attempted to compile.

The project failed to build and output read as follows for both sort templates:

"while compiling class template member function 'std::vector<_Ty> selectionSort<T>::sort(std::vector<_Ty>)' with _Ty=Student, T=Student