C++ how to efficiently multiply a range of numbers

Hey!

I recently started learning C++, and as a beginner I have had alot of use of this forum since so many of beginner-type of questions have been asked and answered before.

I havent found the answer to a problem im currently facing thou. Im working on a program that will take 2 numbers as input from the user and let the user choose between some different options on how to calculate things using the users numbers.

One calculating option is to take the users numbers and calculating the product of the whole range of numbers inbetween the numbers.
For example, the user inputs 1 and 5. What I want to calculate is 1*2*3*4*5=120.

There might be a math term for what im trying to say but unfortunately my math is rusty (but im working on that =))

Anyhow, I have tried different ways to accomplish this calculation and I have found a working method althou im sure there is a more simple and efficient way to do it, and I really would like to hear your thoughts about this.

my code for the calculation:
int number1, number2;
    cout << "Please input 2 numbers" << endl;
    cin >> number1 >> number2;

int i = number1, sum = number1;

while ( i < number2 )
    {
        sum = sum * (i+1);
        cout << "The sum is " << sum << " and the value of i is " << i << endl;
        i++;
    }

return 0;

Cheers,
morper
Last edited on
you can try to do it with a for loop
int number1 , number2 , sum = 1;
cout<<"your message\n";
cin>>number1>>number2;

for( int i = number1 ; i <= number2 ; i++ )
         sum *= i;//its the same as     sum = sum * i;
cout<<"sum = "<<sum<<endl;