Am I just stupid?

Pages: 12
Hey guys, I'm new to C++, I have small amounts of training in XHTML, but this is just blowing my mind. I've read the first 3 pages of the tutorial over...and over..and over again, I still don't get this! I don't know what to code in, how to run it, or anything really. Only thing I've gathered is that putting "//" behind something makes it a comment and it doesn't effect the program. Am I really this stupid? am I doing something wrong? What's going on? Sorry to take up a slot in the forum, but just getting out of high school, I really want to learn C++.

Thanks for your time,
Jeff
To run your code you need to get a compiler. Download Code::Blocks IDE, it will have one.
Only thing I've gathered is that putting "//" behind something makes it a comment and it doesn't effect the program.

I hope you mean before;)

Am I really this stupid?

No one is stupid, you just don't have the knowledge yet.
did you look at http://cplusplus.com/files/tutorial.pdf ?

there are a lot of c++ tutorials out there.
Oh my, this is exactly how I felt when starting out :p As suggested earlier, download an IDE (integrated development environment) which will automate the steps of building and running your program, so that as a beginner, all you have to do is write some code and hit the run button :)
Oh my, this is exactly how I felt when starting out :p As suggested earlier, download an IDE (integrated development environment) which will automate the steps of building and running your program, so that as a beginner, all you have to do is write some code and hit the run button :)

In the interests of balance, I take the opposite approach; if you start with an IDE, you will not understand how turning the text file into a program works and you will struggle every time something goes wrong.