Assistance is appreciated

I am very new to programming and still don't totally understand how everything works, but I'm posting on this forums hoping I might find some help.

In the preceding lines of code I am attempting to create a menu where the user can type an input, and using if and else if statements, have different parts of the program run. An example would be if they were to type “Year” or “year” into the program I want the program to understand (Programs line of thought) “Oh! They typed Year that means they want to run the Leap year program.”
Thanks.

Note: When I run the program it gives me a run time error. I’m running this as a win32 console and I’m using Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 as my compiler.

Code:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
//Tried to declare it like this so my if statement would understand, it’s not working.
char mystr1[5] = "Year";
char mystr2[5] = "year";
char mystr3[5] = "Odd";
char mystr4[5] = "odd";
char mystr5[5] = "Even";
char mystr6[5] = "even";
char MenuOption[5];

//My Menu displayed when the program is first run
cout << " -------"<< endl;
cout << "| MENU |" << endl;
cout << " ------ " << endl;
cout << " Type (Year) if you want to find out if a particular year is a leap year." << endl;
cout << " Type (Odd) or (Even) to run the odd/even program." << endl;
cout << " Input anything else to exit the program." << endl;
cin >> MenuOption[5];

// If they type Year or year run this section of code
if (MenuOption[5] == mystr1[5] || mystr2[5])
{
cout << "Leap Year Program" << endl;
cout << "--------------------------------------" << endl;
cout << "Enter the year that you wish to find out if it is a leap year or not." << endl;
return main();

}

//If they type Odd, odd, Even, even run this section of code
else if (MenuOption[5] == mystr3[5] || mystr4[5] || mystr5[5] || mystr6[5])
{
cout << "Even/Odd Program" << endl;
cout << "--------------------------------------"<< endl;