How much C?

I'm wanting to help a friend who doesn't know anything about C or C++ learn C++. I'm still learning both languages myself, but I'm enrolled in classes at a University. I know there's a bit of cross over between the two in the sense that one may likely use C functions in their C++ applications, but I was curious as to how much C (if any) one should learn before learning C++. For example, C strings are great tools for learning about pointers and how arrays behave in these languages, but, given what classes are available in C++, learning about C strings has limited value past that. So would having him learn about C strings (for example) be a waste of time if he plans on doing most everything the C++ way?
Last edited on
I would suggest teaching him C++ first, as it is much more advanced than C is.

Obviously, the first thing that he would do, is a simple cout << "Hello, World!" << endl; statement, which should be fine. However, through homework, he may find that the principle of a printf() function makes more sense than one that uses operator 's.

It will show devotion, though, if he chooses to strife through the tougher language, as opposed to the simpler one.

[simpler, as in syntactically. Keep your wig on.]
Last edited on
printf("Hello, World!");
cout << "Hello, World!";

Which would look easier to comprehend?
There are no prerequisites for learning C++.
I'd show him C++ first, C is a little simpler and IMO easier to learn once you already have some programming knowledge.
I believe one should first learn how to use the tools (following your example, learn how to use std::string to do string manipulations and I/O) then learn what they are made of (C-style arrays of char and the use of pointers as iterators). It's not a waste of time learning those, but it's a delay in reaching a grasp on the language learning those *first*.