trying to output a signal from csv file

Hi,
I am not a good programmer, but for hardware testing purposes I need to have a board output a waveform from a .csv file. It is a short file that would need to be repeated, which I can do, but I'm not sure where to start.

The file is the output from a sensor sampled at 256Hz, and no signal amplification is needed. Can anyone help me get started?
drehl wrote:
The (csv) file is the output from a sensor...

Fine. I understand that. You also say:

drehl wrote:
I need to have a board output a waveform from a .csv file.

I understand that too, I think. I conclude from both that the file is the output of some sensor sampling process (which is pretty much done and working) and now you need assistance on how to produce sound based on the data recorded in the CSV. Correct?

If I am, I guess you need to translate this to a sound file format appropriate to the sound card installed in the PC and the operating system installed in it. BUT, you also mentioned "a board". Does this mean that you have installed propietary hardware to the PC and you want the waveform to output through this hardware of yours? If so, the answer is Windows is: Create a driver for the board.

Do I know how to create drivers? No. :-( Plus, I don't know the answer if you are in a different operating system.

So now that I think I have provided with what you need to do, my question would be: Where in this process do you need help? Reading the data from the CSV file into memory? Using that data and producing a .wav file or other sound file? Writing the driver? Something else?
A csv usually contains data in 2 dimensions. The columns are separated by commas and the rows are separated by the '\n' character. I'm going to assume that your data only has one dimension, seperated by the '\n' character.

You'll read the file like this:
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include <vector>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <Windows.h>
using namespace std;

vector<double> data;