Or operator (||) with three possibilities?

Hey all. I'm very new to C++ and I've been following a series of tutorials and I decided to try and write a program similar to a text game. My basic outline was to get the user to supply their name and then chose one of three Pokemon (rather unoriginal I admit). Then rival would enter chose superior Pokemon and a small text battle would ensue where I could test my knowledge of the basic arithmetic operators based on the Pokemon's stats (Which I had declared as integers). However I encountered an unexpected problem before this when I tried to check whether the user had correctly typed either Bulbasaur, Charmander or Squirtle.

The code that I have written is:

if (pokemon != "Bulbasaur" || pokemon != "Charmander" || pokemon != "Squirtle"){
			cout << "OAK: I'm sorry I don't understand...";}
		else if (pokemon == "Bulbasaur" || pokemon == "Charmander" || pokemon == "Squirtle"){
			cout << "\nOAK " << name << ", You have chosen "<< pokemon << "! Great Choice!";}

I'm fairly sure name and pokemon have been declared correctly as strings so that's not the problem. Basically when I run this program it does not recognize when one of the three pokemon names have been typed correctly. I'm fairly sure it's to do with the line:

if (pokemon != "Bulbasaur" || pokemon != "Charmander" || pokemon != "Squirtle"){

But i'm not sure how to do this correctly... If anybody could help i'd be much appreciated and would love you forever.

Thanks.

tl;dr - How to do an if statement that checks if any of 3 possibilities are true?
Take a step back and think about it.

If you say if(x != 1 || x != 2), that means the if statement will always go through.

After all, if x is 1, then x != 2, therefore it's true. And if x is 2, then x != 1, so it's true.

If you want to exclude multiple possibilities, you'd want logical AND (&&), not OR (||)

if(pokemon != "Bulbasaur" && pokemon != "Charmander" && pokemon != "Squirtle")
{