Declaring variables for use on Calculus deriving program

I'm pretty new to programming and I'm trying to create a deriving program to do derivatives. For now, I would only like to know how I could declare a variable such as derivative to be the equation where the user inputs what each variable is. I am currently just trying to develop a product rule calculating program. I am having trouble do to getting the actual letter x into the equation so I could display the answer as "45x^(3)+12" or such. Is it possible to do so the way I'm going? Or is there a different way to approach this problem? Or maybe would I have to tell the user to input a value for x and the output would be a plain number?
Last edited on
If I was to require the input of an x for power rule, why does the equation a*n*(x^(n-1)) with variables a=2, n=3, x=1 come out to be 18? Here's my Power Rule Code:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int a, x, n, derivative;
int main ()
{
cout<< "Hello. I am a computer program. I can calculate the derivative of an expression using power rule.";
cout<< "\nPlease type the values of a and n for use like the ex.:";
cout<< "\ny=ax^n";
cin.get ();
cout<< "a=?\n";
cin>> a;
cout<< "x=?\n";
cin>> x;
cout<< "n=?\n";
cin>> n;
derivative=a*n*(x^(n-1));

cout<< "dy/dx=" << derivative;
return 0;
}
^ Is the bit wise XOR operator, not the power operator. You'll have to use the math library for a power function.
I found this out on my own by comparing the binary codes and what the answers I was getting. Thank you, though! I just didn't see your post in time. I found that you have to include math.h and example command is pow(2, 3) which would come out to 8. Would you happen to know anything about my original question?
I'm not really sure what you're asking up there. Are you wanting to display the actual 'x' in the equation, or the value of x in the equation? Either way it pretty simple