error C2065: 'words' : undeclared identifier

Hi all,

Im new to c++, which i have been programming java for 6 years now and im still getting use to the syntax of this language. Im encounter an error with a nested class where for some reason it will not let me access a variable i declared in the second class. Here is the code below:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

class Hen
{
public:
void display();
~Hen();
string word;

class Nest
{
public:
Hen display();
~Nest();
string words;
};

};

int main()
{
Hen hen1;
Hen::Nest nest1;
hen1.display();
nest1.display();
hen1.~Hen();
nest1.~Nest();
cin.get();
return 0;

};

Hen::Nest display()
{
cout << "This is the Nest Constructor Please enter a word" << "\n";
cin >> words;
cout << "You Entered: " << words << "\n";
cin.ignore();

};

void Hen::display()
{
string word;
cout << "This is the Hen Constructor Please enter a word" << "\n";
cin >> word;
cout << "You Entered: " << word << "\n";
cin.ignore();
};

Hen::~Hen()
{
word = " ";
cout << "This is the deconstructor" << "\n";
};

Hen::Nest::~Nest()
{
words = " ";
cout << "This is the deconstructor" << "\n";
};
I donno the solution of your question but i strongly advise you to organize your code. Its so unreadable :(
You have a few problems:

1) Your error is because you're messing up the scope of your display function:

Hen::Nest display()  // <- this is wrong

Hen Hen::Nest::display() // <- it should be this 

Hen is the return type, Hen::Nest is the scope.

2) Your display function isn't returning anything. If you are telling it to return a Hen, then it should return a Hen. You are returning nothing, so you probably should change it to be a void function.

3) DO NOT MANUALLY CALL DESTRUCTORS. These are called automatically and you must NOT call them by hand or risk having objects destroyed multiple times, which is very very bad.

//hen1.~Hen();  // <- BAD!  don't do this!
//nest1.~Nest(); 
Last edited on