Dynamic Genealogy/Timeline

Hi everyone!

I'm extremely new to programming with C++, my programming days were close to a decade ago and involved VB only. But I'm trying to learn this language for the sake of a specific program I am trying to develop that will help me out tons with storing and viewing a very large amount of info (thousands of names, dates, etc.).

My main concern however, is now whether I'm starting down the proper path for this program or if I need to go a different way. I had read one of the articles here that mentioned learning console programming might not be the best route to go if I'm looking into developing programs with graphics. As shown in the subject header, the program I'm looking to create is a dynamic genealogy/timeline. Basically, it will store info such as names, dates, and relations, and be able to produce a timeline chart that shows the genealogy as well as the time this person lived. I say it's dynamic because due to the amount of data per person, one will have to perhaps click on the name and view more info. Also, I will be needing to add information as time goes on and need the interface to do so instead of hard-programming the info into the actual program. Anyone understand perhaps what I'm trying to do?

The problem (maybe?) is that so far all I'm learning is console programming. Again I'm new, so that might be the first baby steps to learning C++. I know I can't make this entire program to use the console, but will need to create a window for it all, which of course needs some sort of graphical programming, correct? Please forgive me if I'm completely wrong here, again my programming knowledge is pretty much a decade old and set in VB which uses actual objects to create the program so I never really dealt with anything else.