Having problem with code

Hello i am new to coding i suck at math but i like doing it anyway. so don't judge me, i am trying to have the user enter the difference in years between bob and Kerry. if the years are correct then i want it to print "correct" if not i want it to loop " try again " until the user gets it right here is my code so far. also i would only like positive random numbers and for bob to always be younger in years than Kerry. please help thank you
UPDATED CODE (SOLVED)
#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
srand((unsigned)time(0)); // randnumber variable
double bnum,knum,yrs;
bnum = (rand()%500);
knum =(rand()%500+2000);
yrs = knum - bnum;
cout<<"Bob is "<< bnum <<" years old."<< endl;
cout<<"Kerry is "<< knum <<" years old."<< endl;
cout<<"How many years seperate Kerry from Bob?"<< endl;
cout<<"Enter a number below then press ENTER: "<< endl;

do {
cin >> yrs;
if (yrs > knum-bnum )
cout<<"Go lower..."<< endl;
else if (yrs < knum-bnum)
cout<< " Go higher.."<< endl;
else
cout << "Great Job!..";
cout << endl;
}while ( yrs != knum-bnum );
getchar();

system ("PAUSE");
return 0;
}

Last edited on
Please first read http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/1/

Also int (bob); does this even compile? I guess you meant
int bob;

int(bob) tries to call constructor of int (at least the equivalent of constructor since int is a built-in type) with argument bob. I don't know if it will compile but int(10) produce a new int and initiate it to 10.
So even if it compiles it ineffective as a command:
int(10); //it does nothing although it compiles fine

rand()% 2000
this will produce 0-1999 not 2000.

If you want bob to be younger assign it a value upto Kerry's age:
kerry = (rand()%2000);
bob = rand()%kerry;

By the way really impressive the age of your character!
Last edited on
Thank you eypros.