understanding arrays as parameters

ok im learning c++ via the online tutorial from this site. this is my first time learning a computer language so please forgive the novice question.
im having a hard time comprehending how arrays are passed as parameters.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
void printarray (int arg[], int length) {
for (int n=0; n<length; n++)
cout << arg[n] << " ";
cout << "\n";
}
int main ()
{
int firstarray[] = {5, 10, 15};
int secondarray[] = {2, 4, 6, 8, 10};
printarray (firstarray,3);
printarray (secondarray,5);
return 0;
}

basically they way i mentally process this is (and PLEASE correct me if my comprehension is wrong) line 3 creates a function [printarray] which will receive an array that's an integer and call it arg and then it will receive an integer variable and call it length. line 4 creates a for then loop, n equals 0; continue loop while n < length and if n < length increment by 1. line 5 tells the computer to display the data being stored in the array at the n address.
skip to line 12 and that's where i start getting a confused.

i know that at line 12 the program calls the function printarray and inserts firstarray and 3 into arg and length, then runs the loop. but i don't get why the loop continues after the first cycle. if n becomes 5, n is less than 3 so why doesn't it quit?

either the author has made an error and my compiler is defying the laws of mathematics because it compiles and executes, returning the exact values as the author stated

3 10 15
2 4 6 8 10

or im an idiot /=
maybe a metaphor on how the for then statement works will help me better understand what the program is executing. i truly am a noob; this is my third day of learning so please don't be too harsh q:

thx
Last edited on
Quick tip. You will notice a format table to the right of the box you can enter you post int.

Select the <> button and place your code within the two tags This will make YOUR code look nice and easy on the eyes.