Storing data/editting vectors/misc

Hello! I'm fairly new to C++ (been teaching myself) and whilst I am confident enough using what I have learnt so far to make programs, sometimes I am unsure as to whether the way I am doing things is the best way, or whether there is something i need to learn that will enable me to do it much better. Anyway, I have two questions for you that are related, about the potential use of vectors.

So, say you were making a sports game, with hundreds of in game players. Each player has a name and some various attributes such as speed, stamina etc.

First question:
What would be the best/easiest/most professional way to store all this information?
My only idea so far would be to create a .txt file with all the data in and load this data into arrays/vectors/variables when the game starts up. This could also involve making a class of players, each with their name, attributes etc. Then a team class could be created so each team has a vector of player objects etc. With this set up it would be easy enough to create all the players/teams, and to be able to add new players. However I'm not so sure how to remove a specific player, which leads to my next question...

Second question:
How would you remove a specific element from a vector (or is there something easier to use than a vector for this purpose)?
Also if you had a long vector of players, but you didn't know the vector index of the player you wanted to remove, is it possible to remove it using a different reference, eg. removing a player by its name, or by an ID number associated with it?

Apologies if this is all a bit vague, but any help would be a great help!
To answer your first question: