functions! need help

Hi!
I am in desperate need of help ... I am new in C + + (and programming overall ...)
I have major problems with an assignment that I have been working on for a long time, without any success, and I can not find information anywhere ...
The task is to build a program that asks for two integers, prints all the numbers between the entered integers and calculates the sum (between the input rate) and the average value and print them.
procedure should also be repeated the user wants, and should be asked if he / she wants to enter two new integer (Y / N), etc. etc. etc.

it should consist of a number of functions, I have managed to make it work with the help of loops, while, for, else / if, etc., but the source code is long and convoluted (only in main ...)
How do I write it with a number of functions and function calls, etc.?

I'm really desperate and would be extremely pleased if someone could help with some advice, code snippets, etc.

(using Visual Studio Express 2010)

Sophie
A function is just a block of code that gets jumped to when you call it. It allows you to separate a larger job into smaller parts.

A simple example:

void PrintSomething()  // this is a function to print "Something"
{
  cout << "Something" << endl;
}

void PrintSomethingElse()  // this is a function to print "Something Else"
{
  cout << "Something Else" << endl;
}

int main()
{
  // now let's say we want to print:
  //  Something
  //  Something Else
  //  Something Else
  //  Something

// we could just call the above functions:
  PrintSomething();  // calls our PrintSomething function
  PrintSomethingElse();
  PrintSomethingElse();
  PrintSomething();
}

When we call Something();, the computer temporarily leaves main and jumps over to the "Something" function. It will run through the code in that function. Once that function is done, the computer returns back to the code that called it so it would jump back to that line in main).