Game Tile Map Question

I am working on a game tile map. I found this thread http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/18315/ very helpful!

A few things were left out in that thread, and I just want to make sure I am going about this the right way. I would like to create something that I could use for other programs, and also that any other developer could easily use and modify if the map needed to be adjusted, more levels added, images changed etc.

One of the challenges I will face is that while all of my tiles are the same size (96x96) they each have different amounts of empty background space. So for collision detection, I think I will need to understand where the border of the image is as well.

I am new to C++ programming, so please critique my approach and let me know if it sounds like I am going about this the right way.

My plan is as follows:

Step 1

Create 13 separate structs for the different types of tiles that I have in my set.
The structs will look something like this:

struct tile {
  bool is_solid;

// The corners will represent the edges of the tile
  int  n_corner;
  int  w_corner;
  int  e_corner;
  int  s_corner;

// Because the images do not always reach the edge, I am 
  // recording where the image ends, for collision detection
  int  n_border;
  int  w_border;
  int  e_border;
  int  s_border;
} ;

Step 2

Enumerate some integers to make it easier to understand what is on
the map. Example

enum tiletypes {
NW = 0, 
HO = 1, 
GR = 2, 
etc};

Step 3

Create a one dimensional array of integers that I can use as a visual
representation of my tile map (my example is enumerated):

int height = 9;
int width = 11;
int tilemap[height*width]{
NW, HO, HO, HO, HO, HO, HO, HO, HO, HO, NE, 
VE, GR, GR, GR, GR, GR, GR, GR, GR, GR, VE,
etc.
}
;

Step 4

Create a function that accepts a pointer to an array of integers,
a pointer to an array of sprite objects, and a reference to the tilesheet
image.