Tetris Pieces

I'm working on doing a tetris game and i started to prototype everything but the problem i'm having is with the pieces.

I have a 10x10 array defined for the game board, initialized to zero at first. I thought about two ways to do this:

1. Store pieces and rotations in an array and update the board each button press (for rotation) and line clear (for score).

Conclusion: This would be very experimental for me, im new to C++ and i just took 'C++ I' at the college i'm attending and i dont know if i can declare an array (the board) and then place the pieces (another array) inside of one another and then update that effeciently. I think even if it was plausible that its just bad programming and it shouldnt be as complex, in short it can be simplified for better results.

2. Using an update function in the game, update every second or so.......

This is where i'm lost. Either i try silly idea 1 or idea 2 but i cant think of how to use an update function to control the pieces.

Any help here?

Note: Prototypes but not code is appreciated as i'm learning and just giving me the code out right doesnt help me learn. I just want to know how thats done (in any fashion) and how to think about this in a way that makes sense because it isnt clicking for me, i need some direction here.
Last edited on
Are you doing this all in the command line?

It would seem to me that you would have one blank array to start the board. This would be a 10 by 10 2D array that was all initialize to blank spaces. Then every piece would have to have four separate 2D arrays for each 90 degree rotation. You would start with your blank array. Then write the next piece to the board array. Use an update function like you said that would be a on a one second timer or so. Then basically every movement, the board array would be erased and a new board draw at the new coordinates with the new piece. If the player turns the piece, erase the board and write a new board with the rotation.