hmi passing messages

For starters im not a programmer. I have worked with c+ a little and am pretty good with PLC's but i dont have any formal training and i really dont know what im talking about. That being said, im working on this HMI by RedLion that is mostly configured visually but also has its own C like language for performing more complicated tasks, but the library is limited. I have this HMI receiving a raw ascii stream of data from a C+ programmed solid state engine control unit. Occasionaly this streaming data is interrupted by a message such as "hydraulic pump low oil". I have this message and all others being parsed correctly but where i stumble is keeping the last message. I want ever new message to bump the last, such as : 1st message becomes second when new arrives,2nd becomes 3rd and on. basically passing the message from one identifier to the next when a new one comes in. here is what i have, i think i know why its wrong but i cant come up with something that works. PLEASE HELP!!

cstring LastMess = input1;
cstring noMess = "No Message";
cstring PrevMess = noMess;
cstring PrevMess1 = noMess;
cstring PrevMess2 = noMess;
cstring PrevMess3 = noMess;

if(PrevMess2 != PrevMess3)
PrevMess3 = PrevMess2;
if(PrevMess1 != PrevMess2)
PrevMess2 = PrevMess1;
if(PrevMess != PrevMess1)
PrevMess1 = PrevMess;
if(LastMess != PrevMess)
PrevMess = LastMess;
Take a look at this, and see if it gives you any ideas:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

string noMess = "No Message";
string LastMess = noMess;
string PrevMess = noMess;
string PrevMess1 = noMess;
string PrevMess2 = noMess;
string PrevMess3 = noMess;

void NewMessage(std::string msg) {
		PrevMess3 = PrevMess2;
		PrevMess2 = PrevMess1;
		PrevMess1 = PrevMess;
		PrevMess = LastMess;
		LastMess = msg;
}

void PrintMessage(string label, string msg) {
	cout << label << ": " << msg << endl;
}

void PrintMessages() {
	PrintMessage("LastMess", LastMess);
	PrintMessage("PrevMess", PrevMess);