How many years do you need to learn C++?

I am new to programming and I want to develop a File Compression program.
How many years do you think one needs to learn C++ and complete such a program?
Well your particular problem sounds more conceptual that programmatic. The programming would be trivial. The concept on the other hand...

Any particular reason?
There is no particular reason, I just want to learn C++ doing some practical problem.
File Compression program were the first I used while I first learned computers. So you may say I have an affinity for them.
Also I want to add some improvements over the existing ones.
A file compression program is almost entirely pure math. More importantly, you say you want to develop something practical, please do not make another file compression format. The last thing we need is someone spreading useful files on the internet with some god awful .ksz extension that can only be opened by 1 single program (the one you made) that is no longer compatible with current OS'es.

Try building a webcrawler, or a data miner of some sort. Find something you're interested in, anything, and find a website that relates to that, and try and make a program that gets some arbitrary stat for that website. Try and find every post I ever made.
You don't need to learn a lot of C++ to write such a program. You should design your algorithm and data structure on paper, then learn enough C++ to translate that to code.
Intrexa:
More importantly, you say you want to develop something practical, please do not make another file compression format

I don't want to do that. :)
Thanks for the hints.

I was thinking of using the existing LZMA algorithm. The output file format will be Zip and 7Z.
How about that?
So how much time it will take considering that I don't have any experience in programming and I am just a beginner.

How much time it takes to learn WinAPI and making GUI?
How much time it takes to learn WinAPI and making GUI?