creating dynamic array in getData function

Please don't laugh & I AM DOING THIS FOR SCHOOL SO RATHER THAN POSTING ANY CODE, I'D MUCH RATHER IF SOMEONE CAN MAYBE HELP TO JUST EXPLAIN how if i'm creating a pointer and dynamic array in a fuction, how do i get that pointer or pointer to first element of array out of the function? I'm a newbie with c++, & though i enjoy it very much, i obviously don't have that knack for it as you'll see from my code. My question is if i'm creating a dynamic array in my getData function how do i get the contents back out of the function? If i declare & pass a pointer in, it says it can't convert from int* to int when I use new to declare my array?
My pathetic code is below; Once again, i appreciate help but please dont respond with any code.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstring>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int getData (int *,int&);
void processData (int *, int *, int, int&);
void printHistogram (int *, int);

int main()
{
int numbOfStudents;
int numbOfQuestions;
int* scoresPtr;
int* frequencyPtr;

numbOfQuestions=getData(scoresPtr,numbOfStudents);
processData (scoresPtr, frequencyPtr, numbOfStudents, numbOfQuestions);
printHistogram (frequencyPtr, numbOfQuestions);

return 0;
}

int getData(int* scoresPtr,int &numbOfStudents)
{
int questions;
string fileName;
ifstream in;
cout<<"Please enter the full name of input file: ";
cin>>fileName;
cout<<endl;
in.open("fileName");
in>>numbOfStudents>>questions;
scoresPtr=new int[numbOfStudents];
for (int index=0;index<numbOfStudents;index++)
in>>scoresPtr[index];
in.close();
return questions;
}

void processData (int* scoresPtr, int* frequencyPtr, int numbOfStudents, int &numbOfQuestions)
{
numbOfQuestions=numbOfQuestions+1;
frequencyPtr=new int[numbOfQuestions];
int temp=0;
for (int index=0; index<numbOfStudents;index++)
{
temp=scoresPtr[index];
frequencyPtr[temp]++;
}
return;
}

void printHistogram (int *frequencyPtr, int numbOfQuestions)
{
int count=0;