Main Parameters

Ive been my Highschool C++ programming for about 6 months now. We've gone over alot, and i now understand parameters(Well most parameters) except for the parameters of the main function. For example,I see main(void) and am not quite sure what this would acomplish or what its purpose is. I do know what void functions are but, because ive never seen another function (Or function typle in this case) would do. Can someone explain?
int main(void) is the same as int main()

This is opposed to the main function header which allows command line arguments to be passed:
int main(int argc, char *argv[])
Last edited on
So, why would you add void to the main's parameters? Since int main() has the same result
Im no expert but, i think....

If you have a function lets say. void fn(void);
void basically means that it does not do anything at the begining of a function but it's important to get into the habbit to use it because it easy to notice. but before a function so, void fn(). the void bit declares what type of function it is so, int, double, float and so on. in the parenthesis fn(void) could be replaced by what the function wants to return. so if you are asking a question you would want it to return a value, so you would say int fn(int num, int num2){} and so on.

if you still don't understand please ask..
hope this helps.
i will give you a example if you want?
cstorm
So, why would you add void to the main's parameters?
For clarification/documentation. I personally don't.

PracticingProgrammer
void basically means that it does not do anything at the beginning of a function...
I think "void" in the formal parameter list means it take no input.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong here. As I said, "I don't do this."
You don't have to add void to parameters. but my personal opinion it helps me for readability. it's like "nothing" = " ". i suppose.
Last edited on
Well not quite because
void f(double x); //is not the same as
f(double x); //(will not compile)