Best way to create image effects (bevel etc)

Hello, I'm new to c++ programming but have read a few books on the subject and am starting to get comfortable with the language.

I have an idea on making a game with a random weapon generator in which weapons like swords are drawn randomly as well and would like some advice on the best way to go about this.

Currently I have started using some windows drawing functions (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd162760(v=vs.85).aspx) and have been able to generate a sword shape with bezier curves.

I'm not sure if this is the best way to go about this though. I would like to anti-alias the edges, draw a bevel on the edge and texture them. I'm having trouble finding information on this as most game programming tutorials go into directX or openGL methods but not on doing something like random image generating.

I know it's possible because there are a ton of image applications out there that have filters like bevel, shading, etc built into them. Does something like photoshop use the windows drawing api or is there a better way? Know of any resources for adding effects like bevels and textures to a shape?

Thanks for any help in pointing me in the right direction :).
I'm new to C++ also, so don't take this to heart or anything.. but maybe I'm not understanding this correctly. You want to basically have a program where it asks the user for a weapon and then will draw a random weapon for them? As in.. I say sword and I get a sword drawn, then you say sword and a different sword will be drawn for you? Sorry, but I'm going to have to say this is IMPOSSIBLE! A computer can essentially only do what it is programmed to do. The only way to go about this would be to have x amount of swords, x amount of guns, and so on and then randomly draw one of the pre-made weapons.