Differences using char* and std::string

Hello,

I've been programming for a couple years now, and through out my article readings and code snippet browsing, i have often seen things like:
char* someVar;

or

std::string anotherVar;

I was just wondering what the difference is between them (aside from the types), and why you'd want to use a char* over std::string or vice versa.

Thanks
A char* is basically a pointer to a character. What C does is frequently makes this pointer point to the first character in an array.

An std::string is a class that is much like a vector. Internally, it handles the storage of an array of characters, and gives the user several member functions to manipulate said stored array as well as several overloaded operators.

Reasons to use a char* over an std::string:
C backwards-compatibility.
Performance (potentially).
char*s have lower-level access.

Reasons to use an std::string over a char*:
Much more intuitive to use.
Better searching, replacement, and manipulation functions.
Reduced risk of segmentation faults.
char*s have lower-level access.

That's my take on it, anyway.

-Albatross
Last edited on
char* is a pointer. That is, it points to data that exists somewhere else, but doesn't actually contain the string.

std::string actually contains the string. It holds an internal buffer, manages the memory, etc, etc.

char* must be used in conjuction with either a char array, or with a dynamically allocated char array. After all, a pointer is worthless unless it actually points to something. This is mainly used in C programs:

char somebuffer[100] = "a string";
char* ptr = somebuffer;  // ptr now points to somebuffer

cout << ptr; // prints "a string"

somebuffer[0] = 'b';  // change somebuffer

cout << ptr;  // prints "b string" 

notice that when you change 'somebuffer', 'ptr' also changes. This is because somebuffer is the actual string in this case. ptr just points/refers to it.

With std::string it's less weird: