Noob here studying c++ Declaring variables!

hey guys just started my degree and am having quite a bit of trouble, First off i have a quiz which i would really like some help with as im struggling, its like learning a whole new language which is much harder, The first question is ..

1)Write a C++ program that stores the integer value 16 in the variable num1 and the integer value 18 in the variable name num2. (Be sure to declare the variables as integers.) Have your program calculate the total of these numbers and their average. Store the total in an integer variable named total and the average in an integer variable named average. (Use the statement average = total / 2.0; to calculate the average.) Use the cout object to display the total and average.

((And my program code is below, please tell me what i did wrong..))

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{

int num1,num2;
int total,average;

num1 = 16;
num2 = 18;
total,average;
total = num1 + num2;
average = total/2.0;
cout << "The average of num1 & num2 is " << average << endl;

return 0;

}

2nd Question is (Write a C++ program that displays the following prompts:

Enter the length of the room:
Enter the width of the room:

After each prompt is displayed, your program should use a cin object call to accept data from the keyboard for the displayed prompt. After the width of the room is entered, your program should calculate and display the area of the room. The area displayed should be calculated using the equation area = length * width and should be included in an appropriate message. )

I have no idea where to even start?? I have to know how to do these as i have a quiz on thursday which is marked, so any help would be appreciated, thanks
Just a heads up, you should use the [ code] [/ code] tag for code on here.

The line of code total,average; isn't actually doing anything, so you should remove that.

For the second question, the answer is written in the question. Simple multiplication. :)