Other programming languages?

Pages: 12
Dear Guys,

I'm thinking about to learn another programming language which will be useful (this is very important), not just to spend the time with something. I only know C++ and haven't even started the university yet, but i know i don't want to be a webprogrammer, if it makes any sense. More like, i want to develope desktop applications or anything like that. Maybe Java or Perl? It would be good to hear about a professional opinion, which is the best for the future, you know..

Thank You,

Martin
Last edited on
I'm not a professional by any means (Considering I'm almost 16), but I know Java more than C++ and it seems like a good way to go. From what I've seen Perl is really ugly looking code. I don't know if its a hard language to learn but the syntax puts me off.
I can speak only from my own experience, which has never and probably never will involve any kind of web code. C++ and C have been my mainstay for the last decade, with objective-C turning up in the last few years (although interestingly not in any way involving Apple products; the team I joined has been using it since the days of NeXTSTEP). Bear this experience in mind, as it will colour my opinion. Also, I read Physics and Maths; I've never taken any course with the word "Computer" or "Programming" in the title, which again will colour my opinion (but hopefully provide a slightly different perspective to my many chums here who did take such courses).

Technically, everything I've worked on would be either a desktop application or embedded, but none of it was shrink-wrap software that Joe Public would go out and buy; it's all custom software, mostly in and around the defence industry.