I'm New Here, and I'm New at Programming

Hello, I am new here on the forums, and new to programming. I'm 22 years old, and I've been on the computer since I was 3. I've heard that by just learning how to program, you just "do it". But I have decided to take a college class for C++ as my first language. I know I could learn it on my own, but I just decided to go this route. I've finished a "Programming Logic" class already. I know there is Visual Basic, which I have messed around with a little bit, but the main language I want to learn is C++. I have heard that it's a flexible programming language. And very good to make games with as well. I could have taken the easy route and went through Basic first, but I'm skipping it and diving straight into C++ because I am an insane individual. (not for REAL)

The main reason I want to program is to make games (same reason John Romero wanted to program, from ID Software). I know it's going to take quite a while, Years. But this is something that I want to do for the rest of my life. I know I'm not going to make the next "Elder Scrolls" game anytime soon, but I want to learn how to create things: stuff people could use as tools, or for fun to relieve their stress from the day. Or maybe even just for myself if I need to.

I thought I would just post this as an introduction to myself, and hopefully I can learn here, along with others. If I get the experience in, I would love to help others as well. I just don't know how active these forums are. I don't even know if I am posting this in the right place, but I AM a beginner.

But if anyone wants to throw some helpful hints at me for anything, please feel free. Thanks for taking time reading this, if you have.

-Sean