Debugging Input into a vector

I'm fairly new to c++, so I apologize in advance if the answer is obvious.

Basically, I'm writing a program that will find the mode of a series of numbers, and output it, but the program gets stuck inside the while loop for inputs.

The while loop is meant to allow you to input numbers (as strings), and push them back into the vector. Inputting "end" should terminate the loop.

vector<String> list;
cout << "Please input a list of numbers. When done, type \"end\" \n";
String next_num = "";
String final_num = "";
int next_times = 0;
int final_times = 0;
bool cont = true;

while(cont)
{
cin >> next_num;
cout << next_num << endl;
if(next_num.compare("end") != 0)
{
list.push_back(next_num);
cout << "Just pushed " << next_num << endl;
}
else
{
cout << "Trying to exit loop";
cont = false;
}
}

unfortunately, the output, is something like this:

Please input a list of numbers. When done, type "end"
Just pushed 5
Just pushed 4
Just pushed 4
test
test
Just pushed test
end 2 3
ctrl+c ends program

Bold indicates the input.
It seems to be checking the if statement before the first cout statement, because it does not read "end" back to you. Additionally, it seems as if the program is stuck in the loop, without pushing into the vector or printing, after "end" is typed.
I've asked several people, and no one seems to be able to tell me what's wrong.
Last edited on
It works. At least for me. I compiled it with MinGW, it exits after the "end 2 3". I don't know what is the problem. Perhaps you could try compiling it with some other compiler?
Does it work if you just typed "end" instead of "end 2 3" ?
Here are two samples of my testing. [] indicates input.

[5]
Just pushed 5
[4]
Just pushed 4
[4]
Just pushed 4
[test]
test
Just pushed test
[end 2 3]
end    // Note that cin << will read only until it encounters a blank character (' ', '\t', '\n')
Trying to exit loop

[1]
Just pushed 1
[2]
Just pushed 2
[3]
Just pushed 3
[4]
Just pushed 4
[end]
end