what can I do?

what does the word 'branch' mean in computer language?

I am studying C/C++ from a book and the book wants me to make a program which is called 'build your own computer' it gives me some clues to achieve the task.

here operation codes that the book wants me to use(the book gives me as a clue)
I did all write this on my code and created their functions(for their own tasks).
However doesn't matter how I tried, because of that I didn't understand the word 'branch' I couldn't create its function. So can anyone help me??
  /* Input-Output operations*/

#define READ 10     //  Read a word from the terminal into a specific location in memory.
#define WRITE 11    //  Write a word from a specific location in memory to the terminal.

/* Load-Store operations*/

#define LOAD 20     //  Load a word from a specific location in memory into the accumulator.
#define STORE 21    //  Store a word from the accumulator into a specific location in memory.

/* Arithmetic operations*/

#define ADD 30         //  Add a word from a specific location in memory to the word in the accumulator (leave result in accumulator).
#define SUBTRACT 31    //  Subtract a word from a specific location in memory from the word in the accumulator (leave result in accumulator).
#define DIVIDE 32      //  Divide a word from a specific location in memory into the word in the accumulator (leave result in accumulator).
#define MULTIPLY 33    //  Multiply a word from a specific location in memory by the word in the accumulator (leave result in accumulator).

/* Transfer of control operations*/

#define BRANCH 40       //  Branch to a specific location in memory.
#define BRANCHNEG 41    //  Branch to a specific location in memory if the accumulator is negative.
#define BRANCHZERO 42   //  Branch to a specific location in memory if the accumulator is zero.
#define HALT 43         //  Halt—i.e., the program has completed its task. 
Last edited on