Estimate relative costs of two routines

Greetings!

For a physics inspired numerical method, I want to estimate the relative computational cost of two routines, one used for energy evaluation, one for force evaluation.

My first idea was to use the chrono module to simply measure the runtimes of these routines. But it quickly turned out that the results were horribly compiler and hardware dependent (see my other thread http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/283620/ ).

I want to have a simpler measure, maybe in terms of required FLOPS.
It's about the cost of an algorithm, rather than the real-world cost of a highly optimized C++ code (or code in any other language). I am a PhD student in applied maths, and my fellow mathematical researches will not care about compilers or hardware dependent stuff anyway...

Now to the two routines:

Both of them require an array of N data points (simple doubles in this example).
The energy routine always needs to iterate through the whole array, whereas the force routine only needs to consider B random array entries (thus we need to draw B array elements with replacement).

I want to know: Given the size of the array N and batch size B, how much more expensive is one routine than the other (rough estimate)?

// This is the energy routine, it needs to process the whole vector Xdata

//params is a simple struct containing 4 doubles.
double U_pot_GM(const params& theta, const double sig1, const double sig2, const double a1, const double a2, 
					  const vector <double>& Xdata, const double sig0){

double U = 0;

for(int i=0; i<Xdata.size(); ++i){

U += log( likelihood_GM(theta, sig1, sig2, a1, a2, Xdata[i]) );    // sum over log-likelihoods

}

U -= (theta.mu1*theta.mu1 + theta.mu2*theta.mu2)/(2*sig0*sig0) + log(2*PI*sig0*sig0);  // log-prior part.

return -1*U;					  
}

// This is the force routine, it needs to process B random elements of the vector Xdata

//forces and params are structs that contain 2 and 4 doubles, resp. .