classes, functions, or ???

Pages: 123
3 of us have come up with more or less similar good faith and fairly comprehensive responses. My interest now is to see what @Peter87 has to offer seeing he knows more about what's on your mind than even you do. He's had his bitch about terminology so it's now wide open to let us all see his talents in action without further input from you.

technically speaking, you had the bitch about terminology first.

@georgep I will be doing just that, drawing a map. That's something I had planned on doing anyway, after I got a proof-of-concept down as I'm still learning.

And before I post this code, I will reiterate that I am still learning and already have a few ideas on how to improve things. What I still am trying to decide on is how best to store the dialog "trees" and trigger them, which hopefully y'all can offer some insight after seeing what I have.

#include <iostream>
#include <chrono>
#include <thread>

// wait time in seconds between dialog lines. format is Wait(seconds);
void Wait(int WaitTime) {
    std::this_thread::sleep_for(std::chrono::seconds(WaitTime));}

int main(){

std::cout << "<>\\\\: There are a number of cores here.";
Wait(5);

std::cout << "\n<>\\\\: They are the same size thanks to standardization practices of the manufacturer,";
Wait(5);

std::cout << "\n<>\\\\: but I know for a fact that they may not be the same grade of power.";
Wait(5);

std::cout << "\n<>\\\\: If I put the wrong core into the wrong machine...";
Wait(5);

std::cout << "\n<>\\\\: ...I guess I don't know what will happen. Presumably some damage, or maybe nothing at all.";
Wait(5);

std::cout << "\n<>\\\\: I don't want to take that chance. I'm not a mechanic, but I think we can figure this out.";
Wait(5);

std::cout << "\n<>\\\\: Engineers are usually obsessed with manuals and charts... Where could they be on this ship...?" << std::endl;
std::cout << std::endl;
Wait(5);