Is intensive single-core application bad for CPU?

Hi everyone,
I'm making my own raycasting game and, since i'm a beginner and did it without planning ahead, i've made it straight forward, direct, no multithreading or any type of CPU usage optimization; so it's a single-thread application right?

The application happens to be using the same core of my 6-core CPU, you can see the CPU (phisical and logic) usage in the image down below. Also the core 2 is always at 44°C while the others are at 33°C (more or less).

I was wondering, is this intensive usage of a single cose harmful for the CPU?

IMAGE:
https://i.ibb.co/xmn06Kw/SINGLE-CORE.png

PS sorry in advance for my poor english
Last edited on
'it depends'.
if you screwed with the computer's hardware (overclocking is the primary example) and disable the fans or have insufficient cooling to begin with, you can certainly overheat and destroy hardware.

a properly cooled and properly throttled to its tolerances (factory defaults) machine should not burn up even if run for days, weeks, etc at full capacity.

while each cpu has its own thermal sensor, they are cooled as a unit if all on the same piece of hardware. The block of hardware is able to run for hours with all of your cores maxed out without overheating (again, if properly cooled and not overclocked and so on).

bottom line is that while you can break hardware, it is almost always tied to a combination of tampering with it and failing to cool it (dead fans count, check them from time to time).

if you have 6 cores and are burning one of them for more than a few seconds, you should perhaps consider threading the workload so all the cores help out and your code runs faster...
Last edited on
44°C is well within the safe range.