Why does this code not work?

Hello everyone,

I am an absolute noob in C++ and just started learning it a few hours ago.
I am just wondering, why it won't let me enter the favorite color when I write it like this.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
   string favcolor;
   string name;
   int age;

cout << "Hello" << endl;
   cout << "Enter your Name: ";
   getline(cin, name);
   cout << "Enter your Age: ";
   cin >> age;
   cout << "Enter your favorite color: ";
   getline(cin, favcolor);
   cout << " " << endl;

cout << "Good Morning " << name << endl;
   cout << "You are " << age << " years old" << endl;
   cout << "And your favorite color is " << favcolor << endl;
   cout << " " << endl;
   cout << "The data you provided is now stored in our system" << endl;
   cout << "Thanks :)";
   cout << " " << endl;

return 0;
}

If I switch the order to first "Enter your favorite color" and then "Enter your Age" like this, it works. But I dont understand why.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
   string favcolor;
   string name;
   int age;

cout << "Hello" << endl;
   getline(cin, name);
   cout << "Enter your favorite color: ";
   getline(cin, favcolor);
   cin >> age;
   cout << " " << endl;

cout << "Good Morning " << name << endl;
   cout << "You are " << age << " years old" << endl;
   cout << "And your favorite color is " << favcolor << endl;
   cout << " " << endl;
   cout << "The data you provided is now stored in our system" << endl;
   cout << "Thanks :)";
   cout << " " << endl;

return 0;
}

Thanks for your help.
Last edited on
cin >> age; cin.ignore( 1000, '\n' );

Your stream extractor >> leaves the newline character in the stream, confusing any subsequent call to getline.
Last edited on
Thanks a lot for your fast reply!

I am not gonna lie, it took me a few minutes and some google searches to understand what you are saying but I think I understand it now (or at least most of it).