Linked list subsets

Hello everyone, I wrote a function to check if one linked list is a subset of the other one, but I'm new to oop and using list, so I'm pretty unsure about my code. I would really appreciate, if you could check that there is nothing extremely stupid that I missed or maybe if there is some way to simplify it.
Here it is:
  bool Equal(List &L1, List &L2) {

if (L1.GetHead() == NULL || L2.GetHead() == NULL) return true;

int length1 = L1.Count();
	int length2 = L2.Count();

L1.Sort();
	L2.Sort();

List::ListItem* list1 = L1.GetHead(); //is this a good way of getting the list items from the class?
	List::ListItem* list2 = L2.GetHead();

int counter = 0;

if (length1 > length2) {

while (list1 != NULL && list2 != NULL) {

if (list1->Value == list2->Value) {
				list1 = list1->Next;
				list2 = list2->Next;
				counter++;
			}
			else if (list1->Value < list2->Value) {
				list1 = list1->Next;
			}
			else return false;

}

if (counter < length2) return false;

}
	else {

while (list1 != NULL && list2 != NULL) {

if (list1->Value == list2->Value) {
				list1 = list1->Next;
				list2 = list2->Next;
				counter++;
			}
			else if (list2->Value < list1->Value) {
				list2 = list2->Next;

}
			else return false;

}

if (counter < length1) return false;
	}
	return true;
}
Last edited on
it depends on how you define subset, I guess.
list 1,2,3 and list 1,3 … the second is a subset in terms of set notation, but there is no place you can 'cut' list 1 to produce list 2.

my first question is what do you get with this:
1,1,1,2,3 and 1,3,3 ? if you get false, why? Is false what YOU want here?