Visual Studio 2017 not working

I just started programming C++. When I tried the shortcuts it didn't do anything. When I try to run or debug the code, the option to do so is grayed out. I don't know what to do. I've checked my code and I can't find any problems. Please help.

The code I wrote:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
int sum = 1 + 1;
cout<< sum;
return 0;

}
Hello MondayPenguin,

Welcome to the forum.

It is ALWAYS a good practice and programming to initialize your variables. If your compiler is using the C++11 standards or after the easiest way to initialize variables is with empty {}s, e.g., int num{};. This will initialize the variable to 0 (zero) or 0.0 for a double. A "char" will be initialized to "\0". "std::string"s are empty to start with and do not need to be initialized. Should you need to you can put a number between the {}s.You can also Initialize an array, e.g., int aNumbers[10]{};. This will initialize all elements of the array to 0 (zero). A use of
int aNumbers[10]{ 1 }; will initial the first element to "1" and the rest of the array to "0".. Following the "1" with ", 2 ..." will initialize the array with the numbers that you have used up to the entire array.

I to use VS, the 2015 version, and will have to start with the question did you create a single ".cpp" or a project?

I am not sure how to create a single ".cpp" file and get it to compile. I always end up creating an empty project and adding the files I need to the project.