Vectors and Classes

Currently in c/c++ programming 2 and trying to expand my knowledge of classes and vectors and how they interact with each other. I'm experimenting with using a header file and multiple .cpp files. This is my first project working with "object-oriented" programming so i have a few questions.

I am taking a .txt file, reading it, and inserting it into a vector so that I can access it inside of my c++ program (when called upon). The code below will build successfully. However, when run the program and I go and pick "a" it gives me a "vector subscript out of range error".

In my "FinalProjectHeader.h" file I declare function declarations and declare class theVector and class Menu. I am inheriting theVector into the class Menu class.

In my "FinalProject.cpp" file i just make an object for the respective classes and call for them.

What I find interesting is that if I copy and put the vector code in the menu class, it works (it accesses the list[2] element). However doing it how i did below does not work (builds successfully though).

My question is how do I best access the elements in the vector, using classes and object-oriented programming?

Thanks for the help.

#include "FinalProjectHeader.h"

void theVector::fileVector() 
{
	ifstream wordfile("FoodSelection.txt"); //if there is a wordfile

while (wordfile >> word)
	{
		list.push_back(word); // adds new element to end of vector
	} // end while loop
};

int Menu::mainmenu()
{
	do
	{ // do statement
		cout << "Welcome, to Grab n' Dash" << endl;
		cout << "Enter A for bacon cheeseburger" << endl;
		cout << "Enter B for soft drink" << endl;
		cout << "Enter C for french fries" << endl;
		cout << "Enter D to exit" << endl;
		cout << "--------------------------------------------------" << endl;
		cin >> choice;
		switch (choice) //switch statement for menu
		{
		case 'A':
		case 'a': //lower and uppercase for safety
			cout << list[2] << endl;
			break;
		case 'B':
		case 'b':